Here Piggy Piggy!

So its almost Labor Day Weekend.  How did that happen?  Where the heck did the Summer go?  It seems like it was only yesterday I was blogging about our Memorial Day Cookout and here it is Labor Day already.  That can only mean one thing…..its time to cook some pork already!

Pig

I cleaned out my deep freezer a couple of weeks ago and found a 7 pound pork shoulder.  That is A LOT of pork, even for lovers of the Pig such as myself.  So I turned that into a taco party for my family and a pot of pulled pork for the annual neighborhood picnic/pool party.

First, I sliced a couple of sweet onions and put those into the bottom of my big crock pot (it will not surprise readers of this blog that I have several sizes of crock pots).  I then prepared a rub by mixing together the following–salt, pepper, garlic powder, cumin, oregano, coriander, cinnamon and white pepper.  I am usually pretty liberal with the amounts when making a dry rub but adjust as you like.

Coat the pork shoulder in the rub and place it fat side up in the crock pot on top of the onions.  Add a couple of bay leaves then pour 2-5 cups of chicken broth (depends on the size of your crock pot) around the pork shoulder being careful not to wash the rub off of the pork.  Set to low and allow to braise for 8-10 hours.

When the meat is fork tender remove it from the crock pot and shred.  The first meal I made was pork tacos.  Along with the braised pork I made a taco bar consisting of fresh guacamole, shredded cheese, sour cream, refried black beans, jalapeño peppers and soft tortillas.  I use a small non-stick saute pan to heat each tortilla on medium-high for about 45 seconds each side.  My taco game has improved greatly since moving to Colorado.

pork tacos

The next meal was pulled pork–add the shredded pork back to the crock pot along with your favorite bottle of BBQ sauce–the meat is so infused with flavor from the dry rub and the braise that I only used about a 1/3 of a bottle of Sweet Baby Ray’s.  Let the meat and sauce meld in the crock pot for 3-4 hours.

slow-cooker-pulled-pork-1

On the side I cooked up a can of Glory Mixed Greens (hard to find in Colorado, check the BOTTOM shelf in the canned vegetable aisle of your favorite grocery store).  I had extra ears of Olathe Sweet Corn that I had made the night before with steaks on the grill so I cut the corn off the cob and added that to the mixed greens along with  5 pieces of crumbled bacon.

mixed_greens

I had several compliments from neighbors on my pulled pork and one request to include the recipe on my blog,  So this one is for you Libby.  Thanks for your friendship and your kind words.  Enjoy the Q!

Leave a Reply

