Toda and B’Teavon!

This past weekend I traveled to Boulder to attend the Bar Mitzvah for a friend’s son.  This is the same friend you may recall from earlier blog posts who shares a love of all things foodie and turned me on to Peppercorn, the Pearl Street institution for all things food and kitchen.  I am forever in her debt for that little gem.

The weekend’s events included the Bar Mitzvah service, a kiddish luncheon, a Hawaiian themed luau and a Sunday brunch.  Talk about eating….. I thought Southerners loved to eat but honestly Jewish folk make us look like amateurs! Aside from all the delicious food, I met so many nice people who share my passion for cooking and displayed a genuine interest in my blog.  I know from my stats page that I earned at least a couple of new followers.  I am hoping my new readers will share some of their recipes…..hint hint.

I came home Sunday afternoon excited to make Sunday dinner since I had not cooked a meal all weekend long.  I tried something a little new for dinner and it turned out DELICIOUS so I am sharing it, despite the fact that it does call for bacon (not exactly a Jewish food).  Spice Rubbed Grilled Chicken Thighs served over fried corn.

To make the spice rub mix together in a dish the following spices, feeling free to add or remove spices according to your individual taste and preference.  Mine included:

  • Cumin
  • White Pepper
  • Garlic Salt (I like Lowry’s brand)
  • Cajun seasoning
  • Black Pepper
  • Allspice
  • Chili Powder
  • Paprika

Rub the chicken thighs all over with the spice mix.  If you grill chicken with the skin on it will flame up very easily on the grill so Jeff always cooks our thighs on the top rack slowly before finishing them on the lower rack and putting that little crispy edge on the chicken.  Get the grill nice and hot before you start and cook the chicken for at least 30 minutes until the internal temperature reaches 175 degrees.

Serve the chicken thighs on a bed of fried corn.  Fried corn is best when its fresh off the ear (ahhhh this time of year makes me nostalgic for Ohio Silver Queen corn).  However, I used canned corn this time.  I like the Kuner brand but I am not sure how widely available it is–its a local Colorado brand.

Start by cooking 6-8 pieces of bacon.  When the bacon is cooked remove from the pan and set aside.  Pour off at least one-half of the rendered fat and return the pan to the heat.  On medium heat, add a chopped onion (you can use a yellow onion or a green one if you want a little pop of color in the dish). Saute the onions until they are soft and brown.  Then add 2 cans of corn.  Crumble the cooked bacon and add to the pan along with 2/3 cup of milk or half and half for a richer, creamier taste. Add 1-2 Tablespoons of flour to thicken the dish. Finish with 2 Tablespoons of butter and salt and pepper and let cook until the corn mixture thickens.  It will look like this:

Fried Corn

I think collard greens would be amazing with this (see my post titled “For Purple Mountain Majesties” for a great recipe).  Since I was away from home most of the weekend helping to celebrate my young friend becoming a bar mitzvah, I served time saving LeSeur baby peas on the side–another excellent canned vegetable whose taste justifies its higher price, in my humble POV.

Mazel tov to Tom Hainline and a hearty Toda to his amazing parents, extended family, neighbors and friends.  This WASP had a most excellent time…..and I didn’t even miss the bacon.  For long.

Leave a Reply

