Stock Rocks

From my previous post you may recall that Lemon Roasted Chicken was on the menu for Sunday Dinner.  Whenever I make a roasted chicken I make stock in my crock pot from the leftovers.  It’s the easiest thing in the world to make and is so much richer and flavorful than the store bought variety.  I make a lot of soups and stews in the Winter and stock is handy to have in my freezer.  Also, you can boil pasta/rice in stock to make those dishes even more flavorful.

I use my trusty crock pot and add to it:  the roasted chicken carcass, the giblets from the chicken cavity, some coarsely chopped onions, celery, carrots, leeks, a bunch of fresh parsley (no need to chop), salt, pepper and then cover with water.  Put the lid on the pot and turn the setting to low.  I let mine cook overnight so I can wake to savory smells throughout the house.

Turn off the crock pot and let it cool.  Then strain the liquid through a sieve or cheesecloth 1-2 times depending upon how clear you want your broth.  I only strain once as I like my stock on the “rustic” side.  If I do not have anything planned for the stock, I simply freeze and reserve for future use.

Here is a pic of the stock prior to straining.  Trust me….it smells a lot better than it looks.  That is actually true for a lot of the dishes I make.  I need to work on my presentation.  I have a friend who is not a trained chef but is one of the best cooks I know.  He posts many of his dishes on Facebook and they are always so lovely.  I have eaten his cooking many times and I can confirm that they taste as good as they look.

If you decide to try out making your own stock, let me know how it turns out.

Stock

Leave a Reply

