Brinner

Not unlike a lot of families, we are very busy this time of year.  Both my hubs and I work full-time and our kids’ schedules are jam packed with basketball, soccer, school, friends, texting, facetiming and avoiding chores.  Sitting down to a home cooked dinner is not always easy but I make an effort to do that as much as the schedule allows.

Last night we attended my son’s basketball game and did not get home until 6:30 PM and everyone was STARVING TO DEATH.  What to do when there is little time….Brinner of course!  Breakfast for dinner is pretty popular around here these days.  Its funny because when I was growing up the only time we had breakfast for dinner is when my Dad was out of town on business.  Apparently, he did not consider breakfast food appropriate for an evening meal.  He likes breakfast for dinner now though.  I think being widowed and having to cook for himself has changed his tune on a few food and kitchen matters.

I had leftover pancake batter in the fridge so I added a bit of half/half to it and gave it another good mixing.  Add pancakes to microwave eggs and voila, brinner in minutes.  Microwave eggs are another popular item in our kitchen.  Mix 2 eggs in a shallow bowl, add a bit of milk/cream/water, a dab of butter, salt and pepper and lay a slice of American cheese on top.  Cover with a paper towel and microwave for 2 mins.  Makes a kind of egg and cheese souffle.

I went a bit fancier for the hubs and I since I had leftover Hollandaise sauce I did not want to waste.  I put buttered English muffin halves in the broiler with some deli ham slices and then topped with poached eggs and the Hollandaise for Eggs Benedict.  I recently embraced the art of poaching eggs since they are healthier than frying them or scrambling them with cheese.  You bring either a pot or saute pan of water with salt and 2 t. of vinegar to a simmer.  You crack your egg into a ramekin or small dish then holding the dish just above the simmering water you quickly slide the egg into the simmering pot.  Turn heat off and cover pot and let eggs poach for 5 minutes.  Remove with slotted spoon.

I wanted to get married in the morning just so I could have a Brunch themed wedding.  I could picture the Bloody Marys, Mimosas, bowls of beautiful fruit, piles of bacon and sausage and Eggs Benedict as the main course.  However, my bridesmaids picked a lovely black cocktail dress to wear and having been raised to follow certain Southern traditions (one does not wear black to a morning wedding), I changed the wedding from AM to PM and we had a lovely cocktail and hors d’oeuvre reception after the ceremony.  We will celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary in a couple of weeks and I will be throwing a dinner party to mark the occasion but perhaps I should finally throw that Brunch?

Mr and Mrs March 2000

Leave a Reply

