Sunday Pot Roast Dinner

We were (mostly) snowed  in this weekend.  We had a foot of powder Saturday/Sunday which made for an interesting adventure across our rural neighborhood Saturday night to attend a Mardi Gras party.  There was gumbo, Popeye’s fried chicken, king cake and a ton of booze.  Great party but you literally could not see where there was an actual road.  Driving by feel.  Good thing we did not have to travel far.

Sunday was snowy and the perfect day to sleep in, eat a big breakfast and make a proper Sunday Dinner.  I have a go to recipe for Pot Roast from The Silver Palate Cookbook.  I used a 5 lb bone in beef shoulder which I browned in olive oil and added leeks to the onion, potatoes, and carrots.  Then 2-3 cups beef stock (store bought) and 2 cups Pinot Noir (one I did not mind sacrificing).  Seasonings included fresh parsley, 2 bay leafs, garlic, salt, pepper, cumin.  After boiling then simmering on stove top, transfer to 375 oven covered for 2-3 hours.

A note about cookware–I am a true believer in enameled cast iron and love my Le Creuset cookware–especially my braiser and my large dutch oven.  Used the dutch oven for this dish.  I now proudly own a large and small dutch oven, a braiser, an au gratin pan and a set of cocottes.  I am seriously considering a copper saute pan though as I see fellow cooks turning out good stuff in them.

Since the pot roast is so savory I wanted something light and sweet to balance its flavor.  Key lime pie is so easy and always tasty.  This one uses 5 egg yolks, a can of sweetened condensed milk and 1/2 cup of fresh squeezed lime juice.  Whip that together and pour into a graham cracker crust and bake at 325 for 15 mins.  Allow to cool completely and then top with whipped cream–1 cup of heavy whipping cream whipped to stiff peaks with 2 T sugar and 1 t vanilla.  I added some lemon peel to the cream for presentation.

Monday night leftovers are Bob Evans’ inspired Pot Roast sandwiches.  There are no Bobs in Colorado.  We miss Bob’s…..and United Dairy Farmer milkshakes.  But everything else about Colorado is better than Ohio.  Sorry Ohio.

Leave a Reply

