Meatloaf Ninja

I hated meatloaf growing up.  In fact, I hated a lot of my Mother’s savory home style dishes like bean soup, beef stew, vegetable soup.  Its ironic that those dishes are now my favorites to make and eat!  And the circle of life continues as my own kids are not exactly the biggest fans of my cooking.

Tonight, however, everybody loved the Meatloaf.  I have been making a variation of this meatloaf for years with the first recipe for it coming from one of my all time favorite cookbooks–The New Basics by Julee Rosso.  Her Market Street meatloaf inspires my version.

Start by finely chopping any and all veggies you have on hand–I used red and yellow peppers, leeks, and celery because that is what I had in the fridge.  You can also use spinach, onions, carrots, broccoli, green peppers, etc.  Saute the veggies in olive oil on med heat 10-15 mins until soft.  Remove from heat and cool.

Meanwhile, whisk 2-3 eggs in a large bowl.  Add spices and seasonings–I used salt, pepper, white pepper, cumin, nutmeg, parsley, garlic and some chipotle pepper.  Then some worcestershire, ketchup, chipotle mayo, bread crumbs and ground beef.   Add the cooked and cooled veggies and mix well using your hands.  I even threw in a generous handful of grated cheddar cheese.

My husband loves meatloaf sandwiches so I bake the meatloaf in a 13 x 9 pan and spread it out so its kind of on the thin side.  Bake in convection oven 375 until brown and bubbly with crispy edges.

Great with whipped potatoes and the only vegetable in a can that is acceptable–LeSeur baby peas.  The next day you heat the meatloaf in the oven and then serve on well toasted bread spread with mayo.  Pair with chips and a pickle.

Leave a Reply

