Valentine’s Day

Food is love.  Valentine’s Day is also supposed to be about love.  I show my love a lot with food, today especially.  Everyone gets chocolate, and socks, and one nice gift.  Jeff got a very nice gift that was something I wanted too–hammered copper moscow mule mugs from Williams Sonoma.  I seriously love that store.

Jeff asked for Chicken Cordon Bleu which gave me the perfect excuse to go to Tony’s Market.  I seriously love this store.  Its a gourmet food market, butcher/fishmonger bakery, fruit and veggie stand, deli and coffee shop.  They have a panko breaded Cordon Bleu that I am going to finish at home with hollandaise on the side, a spinach salad with tangerines and grilled asaigo bread with olive oil.

Add a nice Pinot Noir Willamette Valley 2012 and deserts hand selected from the Tony’s bakery–a dark chocolate torte, key lime tarts, pecan tarts, chocolate mousse bites and coconut macaroons.  The last one is for Sawyer.  My son loves anything and everything with coconut.  I think that is a sign of a future foodie.

Valentine’s Day always comes the day before my Birthday which means more good food.  Love this weekend.  After basketball we are brunching downtown at Lola Denver, a local institution, known for its inventive and fresh Coastal Mexican fare it features one of the best brunches in town.  And I seriously loves me some brunch. Oyster shooters, mimosas, eggs, homemade sopapillas, lobster deviled eggs….. there is just something special about going out for brunch.

So Happy Valentine’s Day everyone and Happy Birthday to me!  Eat, drink, laugh and be merry for tomorrow we shall die.  (Hopefully not, but I like that quote.)

Leave a Reply

